Using two Ps3Eye cams with OpenCvSharp inside Unity3d
Posted: 26 February 2013 10:29 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  6
Joined  2011-09-07

Hello

I’m new to the forum and no hawk at programming, especially once I step outside of my comfort zone (game programming using java or C# in Unity3d), so bear with me smile

So I’m doing a master thesis at my university on crowd gaming, using image processing to detect a crowd of kids holding and moving various colored glowsticks.
I’m using OpenCvSharp (https://code.google.com/p/opencvsharp/) since it’s compatible with the Unity3d game engine which I usually do games in.

I have basic video input, colorspace conversion and segmentation working, and now I would really like to add another camera, to get a “wider view” of the crowd. This is where I run into trouble.
I have connected two Ps3eye cameras to my computer, bought a “2 piece CL Eye pack” and activated both cameras, (screenshot from the CL-Eye Device Manager are attached), I also downloaded and installed the latest driver and SDK.
The two cameras work individually of eachother, however CL-Eye Test only shows one of them for video, both of them for audio (screenshot attached).

Now inside Unity, I have get the live videofeed using the OpenCV(sharp) call capture = Cv.CreateCameraCapture(x);, however no matter what parameter x i feed the function, I always get video from the same camera…
I tried using the index for my laptops inbuild camera and simultaneously another capture call, with index to a ps3eye camera, and that works, which leads me to believe that it is not a problem with OpenCvSharp as such, but more likely somewhere in the drivers…
How the h…. do I get video from both Ps3Eye cams simultaneously, using the two CvCreateCameraCapture() calls?

Specs are:
Windows 8 64x
Intel corei7-3632QM CPU @ 2,2 ghz
8 gb ram
Unity pro 4.0.0f
OpenCvSharp unity example from: http://ux.getuploader.com/aimino/download/3/CSharpTest_Win.zip

Image Attachments