Multicam sync
Posted: 08 January 2010 02:42 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2010-01-06

Hi,

I’m using three Eye cams on two PCs (since multicam driver detects only two cams on one PC). PCs are connected together with 1Gbps Ethernet cable. Is there any simple way to wire cams together and to do frame capture exactly the same time? I know that there is a vsync “thing” on camera’s PCB but I have only basic electronics knowledge (I’m a programmer). So i’ll repeat my question: is there any simple way to do this? smile

Thanks.

EDIT: In OV7720 datasheet there is information that sensor has an external frame synchronization capability using A4 pin called FSIN (Frame Synchronization INput?).

Posted: 08 January 2010 06:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  585
Joined  2009-09-17
Futhark - 08 January 2010 02:42 PM

Hi,

I’m using four Eye cams on two PCs (since multicam driver detects only two cams on one PC). PCs are connected together with 1Gbps Ethernet cable. Is there any simple way to wire cams together and to do frame capture exactly the same time? I know that there is a vsync “thing” on camera’s PCB but I have only basic electronics knowledge (I’m a programmer). So i’ll repeat my question: is there any simple way to do this? smile

Thanks.

EDIT: In OV7720 datasheet there is information that sensor has an external frame synchronization capability using A4 pin called FSIN (Frame Synchronization INput?).

It is possible, although kind of tricky. Even with cameras synced in hardware you’ll get some unavoidable latency in frame transmission over the wire. At what resolution at you capturing your data? Keep in mind that a single color camera at 640x480 @ 60fps generates about 421Mbps of data. If you have two of these you are pushing the bandwidth of 1Gbps link.
What is your target application? Is the latency important?

AlexP

Posted: 09 January 2010 06:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-01-06